Tags

, , , , ,

Let me start off my first post by saying welcome to anyone who may be reading out there.

I have always loved to read.. But there are some amazing books out there that may potentially fly under the radar if the word is not spread. My decision to blog was brought about by one such book I just finished reading.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is an amazing book that I must insist that you read. It was completely different to what I expected when I brought the book.

Primarily set in the 1800’s you are immediately introduced to some interesting and definitely unique characters as the book launches in to a captivating start. With Prospero the Enchanter (Hector Bowen) and Alexander (more often referred to as ‘the man in the grey suit’) propose a contest between them using two contenders – Hector’s daughter Celia and the yet to be discovered Marco. With no indication of what the contest is – this alone is enough to keep you reading.

As we are introduced to more and more extraordinary characters during midnight dinner parties the plot thickens and we fall witness to the birth of Le Cirque des Reves “The Circus of Dreams”.

An amazing circus that is only open at night and that itself and performers exist in complete black and white. The circus appears with no warning. To quote the book “it is simply there when yesterday it was not”. As the circus is described more and more you cannot help but to wish you yourself could experience such a thing.

Further in to the book we are introduced to Baily, whose story is set in the 1900’s, a young boy who not only gets to experience the circus, but is brave enough to break in on a dare – and during his dare meets a young lady refered to only as Poppet who belongs with the circus.

Slowly as we learn more about the relationships and backgrounds of these unbelievable characters and the strange goings on in the circus we begin to get a clearer picture of what the previously mentioned contest entails.

We are then bounced back between the 1800’s and 1900’s untill the 2 stories align themselves in an explosive ending.

I fear to share any more details as I would rather you experience the twists and turns yourself. An AMAZING novel that I highly suggest you read. It is definitely one of the best books I have ever read and I found myself disappointed as I finished it.

I beg you to go out and get yourself a copy as soon as possible and please let me know if you loved it as much as I did.

Ciao for now.

