Tags

, , , , , ,

I’ll put my hand up straight away and say this book is definitely not going to be for everyone.

One of my best friends once said to me some of the books you read seem so boring.. In saying this, I must clarify that what she reads does not fall far from Lauren Conrad books & Katy Perry biographies, whilst at that same time I was reading my way through the Jane Austen novels. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that in a harsh tone, just trying to establish the obvious difference in reading interests. Why do I even bring this up? I think this book would be one of the ‘boring’ books she would refer to.

If you’re not a big reader, I’m not sure that you would enjoy this quite like I did. A truly original story that definitely does not fall under the word ‘commercial’. Even after reading the book review at Dymocks this book was completely not what I was expecting.

We are told the story from the view of Tony, and whilst he is giving us an overview of his life, his life – as he puts it – is not a part of his story. All of the background we are given is information that leads us to a most unexpected ending. Most books that lead to a finale like this one provide us with outsider information along the way and you reach the conclusion way before the end. The Sense of an Ending is completely opposite and we learn things only as Tony does, so that everything comes together in literally the last 5 or 6 pages.

Tony is the ‘safe’ character in this book. We are introduced to his clique of friends which includes Adrian – the philosopher type, deep thinking and much too smart for everyone around him and Veronica – Tony’s first girlfriend, her unpredictable, ever-changing moods that keep us confused and guessing right till the end.

I can certainly see why this book wun this years Man Booker prize and I think it will be around for a long time to come.

If you want something completely different and a little more mind challenging, definitely go and pick up this book. I thoroughly enjoyed it and will most certainly be going back for a second read of this one.

